top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudith Panganiban

How to be a Freelancer

Updated: Sep 17, 2020



This is the common question of all the people who wanted to earn money despite on this pandemic situation we are having right now. Nowadays, most of the company are reducing their manpower because of the impact that this Covid 19 Virus. But despite of this there is still a new safe working area that you can choose, which is the FREELANCING WORLD. Knowing that this is the trending job as of this time with many advantage like flexible time, you will be having more time with your family, you can work from your comfort and you can choose your own timing.


But how are you gonna start if your working experience is too far from Freelancing? As I experienced, it's too hard to find a job that is not related on your background experience. I was a former OFW in Singapore as a Restaurant Manager. Having a Zero knowledge in this field it's a another factor that makes me hesitate if I fit on this Job.


With the help this Internet World, friend connections and suggestions here are some tips or sharing on how are you going to start as a freelancer.

  1. Prepare yourself

  2. Level up your skills

  3. Build yourself

  4. Choose you Niche

  5. Identify your Clients



PREPARE YOURSELF


Preparing yourself is big step that you will be needing to be a freelancer. It's a Big step that you have to come out in your comfort zone. It is a Step that you will be needing to adapt the new environment that you will be facing in your everyday life. A step that might help you to become a better person. As part of this also, reading some articles from Google or Searching from Social Media like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter will help you to have some background on what's with the Freelancing World and how you will start.


LEVEL UP YOUR SKILLS


Once you already set yourself to adapt the new world here is the second suggestion that you have to do.In all jobs environment whether its Online or Work Based job it's really important that you improve your skills. It's also most needed if you will be starting a job that is different from your previous job. Nowadays, if you going to be part of this Freelancing World, some of the clients are needing with experience but others are not, But then it's too hard for you to apply if you don't have any background or idea of what are gonna do. Aside on Google Searching and with the Help also of Social Media, there a lot of Short Courses Online in Freelancing. Wherein they will help you to equip yourself to be a freelancer. For me since I don't have any idea and experience about this freelancing, i enrolled in Filipino virtual Assistance ad through this I got the Ideas and learning on how to be a freelancer and also help me to know which job i belong.


BUILD YOURSELF


Building yourself is also the most exciting part that you have to do when you apply a job as a freelancer. In this Freelance world there is a lot of sites that you may apply like Linked In, Upwork and Jobstreet. This are the common site that will help you to find a client. But in order for you to find a good client you must have a good introduction about yourself. you must prepare a Resume that must give a "wow" impression to your client. Since that I don't have a idea i tried to search through Youtube on how to create a good page on this link job so i can find a good client. But unfortunately, searching in YouTube and other link is not enough for me so this is the reason also for me to enroll to this Filipino Virtual Assistance. They provide lesson that help me Build myself and also help me for my Portfolio that is an addition in finding my clients. Through my Portfolios, I can show them that I got this skills in creating this kind of portfolio.


CHOOSE YOUR NICHE


In choosing your Niche you will be able to define what job you can deliver to your clients. On what field are you suitable and able to do your job properly. Before I thought that Freelancing is only on the Admin Jobs, but since that I got this Filipino Virtual Assistance they help me to widen my knowledge in Freelancing world. Freelancer is many concepts, its divided into many jobs that you can immediately adapt or jobs that you have an interest to learn.


IDENTIFY YOUR CLIENT


Since that you are the one deciding what Job you want, what time you want work, how long you want to work with this client, and how many clients you want, choosing of right client is important for you to do. This is the best part also of Freelancer because they have the authority to choose to whom they want to work.


And that are some of my advice that is based on my experience. I hope that this can help you to decide on what job you wanted to be. Just be reminded that it's better learn something new everyday because this way help you to improve to be a better person! Good luck to your new journey and God be with you always!




23 views0 comments
bottom of page